Epiphany #FindYourLimitAndGoBeyondIt

 

screenshot_20190110-113231
http://www.mikehorn.com/

Saw this post on instagram earlier today, I commented because I know exactly what he means. Memories of the Arctic are still vivid in my mind and heart.

This post made me realize something that I hadn’t thought of, a revelation of the chain of events in 2017/18.

In 2017, I was training at every possible chance I had to fly to Vannes, still trying to find my feet in sailing…I still am even now but that’s a story of another day. I spoke to a colleague in the office corridors and he said “Lungi, you must surround yourself with like-minded people”. I already knew about Mike Horn and followed his Twitter religiously because of the inspiration I found in his tweets. I wanted to meet him but didn’t know if it would happen, I think I even tweeted that lol.

Fast forward, my birthday present for 2017 was a ticket to his  September talk in Switzerland about his latest #Pole2Pole expedition. I was so excited to be in his presence, listen to his story and draw inspiration from his relentless pursuits after all indlela ibuzwa kwabaphambili angithi.

After the talk, I met him and he was surprisingly elated to meet me as well and to hear that a fellow S.African was in the room. He apologised for presenting in French lol. The first photo below describes the meeting perfectly.

img_20170911_000912
Couldn’t help but laugh at his expression

 

At this point the Arctic and the North pole were non-existent in my mind. Little did I know that a month and half later, I would be accepted as crew and commence training on my Arctic/North Pole expedition. Let alone that I would cross the Arctic Circle, go off the grid completely.

I actually haven’t thought about the chain of these events until now, the universe though…I’m speechless but ever so grateful for it all.

img_20170911_000953
This led to the below amongst other things 🙂

img_20180728_073801img_20180806_132041_resized_20190110_024544371

Leave a comment